

SUBJECT: Council committee and Deputy Mayor assignments for

2020

TO: Committee of the Whole

FROM: Office of the Mayor

Report Number: MO-20-19

Wards Affected: All

File Numbers: 130-02

Date to Committee: December 2, 2019

Date to Council: December 16, 2019

Recommendation:

Appoint Councillors Kelvin Galbraith and Lisa Kearns, as chair and vice chair respectively to the Environment, Infrastructure and Community Services Committee effective January 1, 2020 for the term to expire December 31, 2020; and

Appoint Councillors Shawna Stolte and Rory Nisan, as chair and vice chair respectively to the Community Planning, Regulation and Mobility Committee, both regular and statutory public meetings, effective January 1, 2020 for the term to expire December 31, 2020; and

Appoint Councillors Rory Nisan and Paul Sharman, as chair and vice chair respectively to the Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk and Accountability Committee effective January 1, 2020 for the term to expire December 31, 2020; and

Appoint Councillors Angelo Bentivegna and Lisa Kearns, as chair and vice chair respectively to the Council Workshop Committee effective January 1, 2020 for the term to expire December 31, 2020; and

Approve the Deputy Mayor rotation as outlined in report MO-20-19; and

Amend the procedure by-law to permit chairs to serve in the Deputy Mayor rotation.

Purpose:

An Engaging City

Good Governance

Background and Discussion:

The chair and vice chair of council standing committees rotates annually according to calendar year. Typically, the vice chair of the committee moves into the chair role, and the chair rotates off; however, with the recent reorganization, an additional standing committee has been added. This will mean that all members of council are either a chair or vice chair, and some will have more than one role.

The current 2019 committee chair/vice chair:

Committee of the Whole, Regular and Budget:

Chair: Lisa Kearns

Vice-Chair: Kelvin Galbraith

Planning & Development Committee, and Planning & Development Public Meeting:

Chair: Paul Sharman Vice-Chair: Rory Nisan

Audit Committee:

Chair: Paul Sharman Vice-Chair: Lisa Kearns

(Note: As there are citizen members on this committee, there is opportunity for one of

them to serve as chair, vice-chair or both)

Committee of the Whole - Workshop:

Chair: Shawna Stolte

Vice-Chair: Angelo Bentivegna

City Council:

Chair: Mayor

Vice-Chair: Deputy Mayor

After careful consideration of skills, experience, priorities and exposure, as well as seeking input from each councillor, the recommended new Chairs/Vice Chairs for the new committees is as follows:

EICS: Environment, Infrastructure & Community Services Committee

Chair: Kelvin Galbraith Vice Chair: Lisa Kearns

CPRM: Community Planning, Regulation & Mobility Committee; AND CPM: Statutory Public Meeting

Chair: Shawna Stolte Vice Chair: Rory Nisan

CSSRA: Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk and Accountability Committee (includes Budget special meetings)

Chair: Rory Nisan

Vice Chair: Paul Sharman

Council Workshop:

Chair: Angelo Bentivegna Vice Chair: Lisa Kearns

Audit:

Chair: To be determined by Audit Vice-Chair: To be determined by Audit

Deputy Mayor:

Chairs can't be a deputy mayor, according to our current procedure bylaw. We will need to modify that part of our procedure to better distribute the deputy mayor role among more council members.

Currently the deputy mayor role is on a one-month rotation, which can lead to confusion as to who's on deck. During this term, I will be bringing forward a report providing better definition of, and outlining an enhanced role for, the deputy mayor. In the short term, I am recommending the role rotate quarterly, and that two deputy mayors serve each quarter, to provide additional backup for the mayor and opportunity to councillors.

Q1:

Kelvin Galbraith Angelo Bentivegna

Q2:

Lisa Kearns Shawna Stolte

Q3:

Rory Nisan Paul Sharman

Q4:

Angelo Bentivegna Kelvin Galbraith

Financial Matters:

Not applicable

Total Financial Impact

Not applicable

Source of Funding

Not applicable

Other Resource Impacts

Not applicable

Conclusion:

The above recommendations will provide the desired level of governance, focus and expertise to successfully oversee committees and council in the City of Burlington, as well as provide the necessary support for the function of the Mayor's office through assigned Deputy Mayor rotations.

Respectfully submitted,

Mayor Marianne Meed Ward

Report Approval:

All reports are reviewed and/or approved by Department Director, Director of Finance and Director of Legal. Final approval is by the City Manager.