Re: Taking a Closer Look at the Downtown: Preliminary Preferred Concept, Report #PL-02-20

We delegated on January 14, 2020 in reference to the ICBL Land Use Study Report (#PL-01-20), and by extension, the Preliminary Preferred Concept Report.

The common messages of our delegations (WeLoveBurlington [Lynn Crosby and Blair Smith] and Independent, Gary Scobie) were:

- 1. We take serious issue with the process that put these two reports to Council with virtually no opportunity for proper and meaningful citizen engagement; we feel, once again, that local voice is not truly heard nor respected. The fact that not one member of Council had a single question for either delegation further cemented that feeling.
- 2. We believe that the UGC boundary must be moved north and out of the downtown and that the MTSA designation at the John St. Bus terminal must be removed. This has been stated by delegates for the past year, and for the year before that.
- 3. We expect Council to immediately collaborate with both the region of Halton and the province to effect the necessary changes as part of approving a new official plan. We strongly encourage Council to take advantage of the collaboration opportunities offered by MPP Jane McKenna in her letter to Council of January 10, 2020.

We will not be delegating on January 16<sup>th</sup>. If we did delegate at either the January 16th Preferred Concept meeting or the January 30th Council Meeting on the Updates for the OP, we would be delivering essentially the same delegation as that of the 14<sup>th</sup>. We see no point nor possible different outcome.

However, we question the fate of the report on citizen engagement that was scheduled to be presented in early November and was pulled at the last minute. WeLoveBurlington stands to support and speak out for local voice and transparency by our governments. We feel there are serious problems with the delegation process, the presentation of important reports to the public, and the process of citizen engagement.

## WeLoveBurlington:

Lynn Crosby, Blair Smith, Josie Wagstaffe, Deborah Ruse, Dave Myers

## **Independent Delegator:**

Gary Scobie