

SUBJECT: Standing committee Chairs and Vice Chairs for 2022

TO: Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk & Accountability Cttee.

FROM: Office of the Mayor

Report Number: MO-07-21 Wards Affected: All File Numbers: 130-02 Date to Committee: December 6, 2021 Date to Council: December 14, 2021

Recommendation:

Approve the standing committee Chair and Vice-Chair appointments for 2022, and the appointments to the Licensing Committee, as follows:

EICS: Environment, Infrastructure & Community Services Committee

Chair: Councillor Kelvin Galbraith

Vice Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte

CPRM: Community Planning, Regulation & Mobility Committee

Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte Vice Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan

CSSRA: Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk and Accountability Committee

Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan

Vice Chair: Councillor Paul Sharman

Council Workshop

Chair: Councillor Angelo Bentivegna (remains the same) Vice-Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns

Budget

Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns (Moves from Vice Chair to Chair) Vice-Chair: Kelvin Galbraith

License and Appeals Committee

Chair: Paul Sharman Council Representatives (2 required): Councillor Kelvin Galbraith Councillor Lisa Kearns

PURPOSE:

Vision to Focus Alignment:

- Building more citizen engagement, community health and culture
- Deliver customer centric services with a focus on efficiency and technology transformation

Background and Discussion:

Each year, the mayor recommends for council approval appointments of Chair and Vice Chair for standing committees. Attached you will find recommendations for the 2022 year.

There are two notable changes from 2021. There is no longer a separate chair for Community Planning Regulation and Mobility Statutory Public Meeting. These meetings will be chaired by the Chair of the regular CPRM. There is a new License and Appeals Committee and the clerk has requested a chair and two members of council to be appointed to serve. Those recommendations are below.

In making my recommendations to council for Chairs/Vice Chairs the guiding principles include attempting to accommodate specific requests where received, providing accommodations for specific personal circumstances as needed, providing opportunity to serve on different committees, and offering fairness, balance and equity of opportunity for each member to serve as chair of one of the three standing committees within a two-year period. Normal practice to achieve this equity is for the Vice Chair to move into the Chair position the following year. There are six committees, so all members of council will have an opportunity to serve as Chair of a committee and Vice Chair of a committee in 2022. Audit committee selects their own Chair and Vice Chair by a vote of the membership.

As 2022 is an election year, the term of Chair/Vice Chair will end with the council term. A new slate of Chairs/Vice Chairs for the balance of 2022 and 2023 will be chosen in November once the new council takes office.

With those guiding principles in mind, the following are the recommended Chair/Vice Chair appointments and members of the License and Appeals Committee for 2022:

EICS: Environment, Infrastructure & Community Services Committee

Chair: Councillor Kelvin Galbraith (moves from Vice Chair to Chair) Vice Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte

CPRM: Community Planning, Regulation & Mobility Committee

Chair: Councillor Shawna Stolte (moves from Vice Chair to Chair)

Vice Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan

CSSRA: Corporate Services, Strategy, Risk and Accountability Committee

Chair: Councillor Rory Nisan (moves from Vice Chair to Chair) Vice Chair: Councillor Paul Sharman

Council Workshop

Chair: Councillor Angelo Bentivegna (remains the same, as requested by Councillor) Vice-Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns

Budget

Chair: Councillor Lisa Kearns (Moves from Vice Chair to Chair) Vice-Chair: Kelvin Galbraith

License and Appeals Committee:

Chair: Paul Sharman

Council Representatives (2 required): Councillor Kelvin Galbraith + Councillor Lisa Kearns

Summary by Ward:

Ward	Chair	Vice Chair	Additional
1	EICS	Budget	License & Appeals (member)
2	Budget	Workshop	License & Appeals (member)
3	CSSRA	CPRM	-
4	CPRM	EICS	-
5	License & Appeals	CSSRA	-
6	Workshop	-	-

Financial Matters:

Not applicable

Climate Implications

Not applicable

Engagement Matters:

Input from all members of council on the Chair/Vice-Chair rotation was gathered by the mayor leading up to this report.

Conclusion:

The above Chair and Vice-Chair recommendations will provide the desired level of governance, focus and expertise to successfully oversee Standing Committees. The rotation for 2022 allows all members of council to have served as Chair and Vice-Chair of different committees several times during this 4-year term of council.

Respectfully submitted,

Mayor Marianne Meed Ward

Report Approval:

All reports are reviewed and/or approved by Department Director, the Chief Financial Officer and the Executive Director of Legal Services & Corporation Counsel.